The Brownlow Medal count live on - every year since 2003.

2008 Brownlow Medal

2008 Brownlow Winner - Adam Cooney

Adam Cooney of the Western Bulldogs has won the 2008 Brownlow Medal by one vote. Cooney polled 24 votes, narrowly beating Simon Black who finished on 23 votes.

Cooney was one of the top-10 favourites before the count and he polled three votes in round one.

He played all 25 games for the Bulldogs this season and managed six best-afield performances. This season he made his first All-Australian team. Cooney played through the finals series despite suffering from a fractured kneecap.

Adam Cooney Brownlow
brownlow fashions

2008 AFL Brownlow Medal Leaderboard

Top 10 after
Round 22
Player Team Votes
Adam Cooney Western Bulldogs 24
Simon Black Brisbane Lions 23
Gary Ablett Geelong 22
Matthew Richardson Richmond 22
Adam Goodes* Sydney 21
Lance Franklin* Hawthorn 20
Joel Selwood Geelong 19
Matthew Pavlich Fremantle 17
Brent Harvey Kangaroos 17
Brad Sewell Hawthorn 16

* ineligible

The Brownlow Medal is the official "best and fairest" award of the Australian Football League. Votes are awarded by the umpires at the end of each match of each round of the regular season. At the conclusion of the regular season votes are totaled and the best and fairest player is announced prior to the AFL grand final.

Brownlow Medal News Headlines
View our Brownlow Medal news for the latest headlines on the Brownlow and AFL Football news for the latest footy headlines.

Past Brownlow Medallists - View the previous Brownlow Medallists and votes by round:

Brownlow Medal fashions
A highlight each year are the WAGs fashions on display on the red carpet at the Brownlow Medal.

Brownlow WAGs Fashions

©Copyright 2008. All Rights Reserved.